Managing Users

Updated 1 month ago by Chloe Kesler

What is this feature used for?

On Gorgias you can add multiple Users to your dashboard and assign them specific Roles. User Roles will allow the store owner to restrict access to some parts of your Dashboard and actions that they can take within the dashboard.

Add users to your Gorgias account:

  1. Navigate over to "Settings" and from the left hand navigation panel select "Users"
  1. Click "Add user" in the top right.
  1. Insert your users information and select their role. Once you have completed this click "Add user". Your new user will now receive an email with a link inviting them to setup their password and login to Gorgias. If you need to edit the user or resend their invitation email go back to step 1 and then click on their name. From here you will be able to make changes and resend the invite.

User Permissions

There are 5 roles enabling you to precisely control users' permissions:

  • Observer agent: Able to view customers, tickets and send internal notes.
  • Lite agent: Able to modify customers, tickets and send messages.
  • Basic agent: Able to modify customers, tickets, send messages and perform integrations-related actions.
  • Lead agent (previously Agent): Able to manage customers, tickets, tags, send messages and perform integrations-related actions.
  • Admin: Able to manage everything. (billing info, users, integrations, rules, tickets, customers, etc...)

Here is the complete table of permissions associated with each role:

Features \ RolesObserver
agent
Lite
agent
Basic
agent
Lead
agent
Admin
Account settings
view
update
Billing
view
update
Customers
view
create/update
delete
Events
view
create
Integrations
view
perform actions
create/update
delete
Macros
view
create/update
delete
Tickets & messages
view
update
send internal note
send public message
delete
Requests
view
create/update
delete
Rules
view
create/update
delete
CSAT
view
create
Statistics
view
download
Tags
view
create/update
delete
Users
view
create/update
delete
Views
view
create/update
delete
Widgets
view
create/update
delete

Transfer account ownership to other user

The account owner is established upon account creation, with the email address used to configure the account. A Gorgias account can only have one account owner. You cannot delete the account owner, nor downgrade their role from admin. Note that the default billing address of an account is the account owner's email address.
Only the current account owner can transfer the ownership of a Gorgias account to another user..

  1. Navigate over to "Settings" and from the left-hand navigation panel select "Users".
  2. Click on the user you want to set as the account owner

  1. Click on the "Set as account owner" button, and confirm.
The account owner will automatically become an admin, if not already.

Delete User

In case that you need to delete a User please follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings > Users
  2. Click on the User that you need to delete
  3. Hit "Delete User" button in the bottom right corner

If you delete a team member this action will un-assign this team member from all its tickets, open or closed, and delete its statistics. The tickets however will not be deleted, they will just be unassigned.


How did we do?